12 teams participate in the competition:

- all 12 2016 Veikkausliiga teams.

Group stage:



All Group stage and Knockout stage matches are played in indoor halls with full-size pitches, in or near the club's home cities.

12 teams are drawn into 2 groups (Groups A-B) of 6 teams each.

Each team plays the others from its own group once - for a total of 5 games each.

Scoring points:

3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss.

Table order:

1. points won; 2. points in head-to-head matches; 3. goal difference in hth matches; 4. goals scored in hth matches; 5. total goal difference; 6. total goals scored; 7. draw.

Qualification for the Knockout stage:

1 place of each group: qualify for the Knockout stage.

Knockout stage:



2 teams from the Group stage contest the 2016 League Cup winner in a knockout format.


The two teams meet each other with the winner becoming 2016 League Cup winner.

Winner is decided over one leg, with extra time and penalties if score is level after regular time.

The match is played at a neutral venue.