Faulkner left out as Starc, Lynn make Australia Champions Trophy squad

20 aprile 2017 09:52

The injured duo of Chris Lynn and Mitchell Starc have been included in Australia's squad for the ICC Champions Trophy together with James Pattinson, Moises Henriques and John Hastings, but James Faulkner is a surprising omission.

Lynn and Starc are currently sidelined by respective shoulder and foot problems, but are anticipated to be fully fit ahead of Australia's tournament opener against New Zealand on June 2.

Starc could form part of an intimidating four-man pace attack in England, after fellow quicks Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Pattinson were also selected - the latter earning a one-day recall.

Henriques has been prefered to the likes of Usman Khawaja, George Bailey and Peter Handscomb, while Hastings - a bowling all-rounder who has previously enjoyed success in English conditions - returns to the squad having last played an ODI in October 2016.

Yet there is no place for the experienced Faulkner, man of the match as Australia won the World Cup in 2015.

Chief selector Trevor Hohns said: "James has been a consistent performer for the one-day squad for several years. However, with players such as Pattinson, Cummins and Hastings coming back to full fitness and the emergence of Marcus Stoinis, James was squeezed out of the squad and is an unlucky omission."

Commenting on the recalls for Pattinson and Hastings, who are impressing in county cricket for Nottinghamshire and Worcestershire, Hohns added: "Both James and John have made very good returns from injury and are bowling well for their respective teams in the English county competition as well as both contributing well with the bat.

"When you also add Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins to the fast bowling artillery it becomes a very exciting proposition for Australian cricket."

Hohns also said of Starc and Lynn: "Our medical staff will continue to monitor Mitchell and Chris’ recovery from their respective injuries, but we are hopeful they will be fit in time for the team’s departure on May 18.


Australia squad for Champions Trophy: Steve Smith (captain), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Ultime notizie

19 giugno 2018


18 giugno 2018